FMX Home
Glenn Hegar  ·  Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts

Payment Scheduling – Comptroller Policy
Payments of More Than $5,000

Payments must be scheduled for distribution 30 days from the last of the received, invoice or completion of services/receipt of goods or:

  • As prescribed by the contracts or specific agreements covering the payments, or
  • On the last day a payment can be made without accruing interest under the prompt payment law.

Otherwise, agencies must justify the cost effectiveness of making a payment early or explain the state business reason for paying early.

Note: Vendor hardship does not qualify as a state business reason for paying early.

See also: Early Payment Discounts

Definitions

Payment
Money owed to a vendor.
State agency
  • A board, commission, department, office or other agency in the executive branch of state government created by the constitution or a statute of this state, including an institution of higher education as defined by Texas Education Code Section 61.003.
  • The Supreme Court, the Court of Criminal Appeals, a court of appeals, a state judicial agency or the State Bar of Texas.
Note: The definition of state agency does not include the Legislature or a legislative agency under the Payment Scheduling law.
Vendor
A person who supplies goods or a service to a state agency or another person directed by the agency. The term does not include a state agency, except for Texas Correctional Industries. The term includes an officer or employee of a state agency when acting in a private capacity to supply goods or a service.
Glenn Hegar
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Questions? Contact statewide.accounting@cpa.texas.gov
Comptroller.Texas.Gov | FMX
FMX Sitemap | Contact FM
Accessibility Policy | Privacy and Security Policy