FMX Home
Glenn Hegar  ·  Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts

Payment Scheduling – Comptroller Policy
Exemption for Payments of $5,000 or Less

Payments of $5,000 or less are exempted from mandatory payment scheduling. Agencies may use their discretion when scheduling payment on an invoice that is $5,000 or less and make those payments as soon as the transactions are ready to be processed.

For groups of invoices covered by a monthly statement, the statement amount must be $5,000 or less for the invoices to qualify for agency discretion on distribution.

Agencies may choose to process these payments for distribution at the latest possible time as long as prompt payment law interest is not accrued.

Definitions

Payment
Money owed to a vendor.
State agency
  • A board, commission, department, office or other agency in the executive branch of state government created by the constitution or a statute of this state, including an institution of higher education as defined by Texas Education Code Section 61.003.
  • The Supreme Court, the Court of Criminal Appeals, a court of appeals, a state judicial agency or the State Bar of Texas.
Note: The definition of state agency does not include the Legislature or a legislative agency under the Payment Scheduling law.
Glenn Hegar
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Questions? Contact statewide.accounting@cpa.texas.gov
Comptroller.Texas.Gov | FMX
FMX Sitemap | Contact FM
Accessibility Policy | Privacy and Security Policy