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Advanced Expenditure 
Processing and Documentation

Welcome to Training!
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Objectives

Participants will be able to …
1. Discuss frequently used expenditure 

processing and documentation 
resources

2. Discuss advanced sections of the 
Purchase Policies and Procedures 
Guide

3. Research payments in TINS and USAS
4. Avoid common post-payment audit 

findings
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Frequently Used Resources

General Appropriations Act (GAA)
State of Texas Purchase Policies and 
Procedures Guide
Comptroller Manual of Accounts
Fiscal Policies and Procedures (FPPs)
Statewise
Expenditure Assistance Section -
(512) 475-0966
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§ 2.010 - Charitable Organizations

An agency may not provide money, a 
good, or a service to a charitable 
organization unless:

The agency has specific or implied statutory 
authority to provide it; and
Providing it would serve a proper public 
purpose; and
The agency would receive adequate 
consideration for it; and
The agency adopts adequate controls to 
ensure that the public purpose is achieved. 

It is unlikely that a state agency would be 
able to show compliance with the 
preceding conditions.  
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§ 2.022 – Food and Related Equipment

Food may not be purchased for employee or 
agency visitor consumption
Agencies may purchase food storage and 
preparation equipment if the agency determines it 
has authority to do so
Documentation must show how the purchase is 
necessary to the accomplishment of a public 
purpose related to the agency’s legal authority or 
duties
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§ 2.026 - Judgments and 
Settlements

Guidelines for payment of judgments and 
settlements:

Limited to $250,000 per claim 
Limited to 10% of total funds available to spend for 
an agency during a fiscal year

Judgments and settlements require online 
approval by the Comptroller’s Office and offline by 
the Attorney General and Governor’s Office.
Settlements under the Texas Tort Claims Act 
cannot be settled by a governmental unit unless 
determined by the Governor that it is in the best 
interest of the unit.
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§ 2.036 - Chamber of Commerce 
Memberships

An agency may not join a chamber 
of commerce. 
An agency may contract with a 
chamber of commerce for services if 
the agency has statutory authority 
to do so.  
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§ 3.020 – Licensing Fees and Occupation 
Taxes

An agency is not required to pay 
licensing fees or occupation taxes
Factors for an agency to consider:

Whether the employee works full-time 
or part-time
Whether the employee uses the 
professional credentials outside state 
employment
Whether the credentials are required or 
merely useful
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§ 3.024 – Moving Expenses

Use a state-owned vehicle if it is available
Moving expenses for employees are 
payable if: 

The employee is reassigned from one 
designated headquarters to another, and
The agency determines that the best interest 
of the state will be serve by the reassignment, 
and 
The distance between the current and future 
designated headquarters is at least 25 miles
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§ 3.024 – Moving Expenses (cont.)

Moving expenses for employees are 
also payable if: 

The employee is employed at a facility 
that is being closed or is undergoing a 
reduction in force, and
The employee accepts a position with 
the agency that is headquartered at 
least 25 miles from the original facility
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§ 3.024 – Moving Expenses (cont.)

Documentation:
Put reimbursements for 
meals, lodging, mileage, and 
transportation expenses on a 
travel voucher
Direct payments to a 
commercial transportation 
company or owner of a self-
service vehicle must be on a 
purchase voucher under 
expenditure object code 7071
If a state-owned vehicle was 
available, explain why a 
company or self-service 
vehicle was used
State the employee’s old and 
new headquarters
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§ 3.026 - Notary License Fees and 
Bond Fees

An agency may pay a notary license fee 
or notary bond fee for an employee if 
providing notary services is part of the 
employee’s duties.  
Expenditure object codes:

Use 7205 for notary bond fees (requires 
pre-approval by SORM) 
Use 7210 for notary license fees
Use 7334 for notary stamps or notary 
record books
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Exercise Time! 
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§ 4.008 - Attorneys

The Attorney General is the legal representative 
of the state.
The approval of the Attorney General is needed 
for contracts with outside attorneys or law firms:

Object code 7246 – OAG gives online approval 
before each payment processes
Object code 7258 – OAG gives the agency 
blanket approval to hire outside legal counsel

Submit a copy of the OAG’s letter authorizing 
retention of outside legal counsel
Agency will be added to the 8C profile in 
USAS.
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§ 4.018 - Witness Fees and Expenses

Different rules for witnesses in 
different proceedings:

Administrative hearings
Civil court
Criminal proceedings
Federal court

Expert witnesses receive 
compensation and reimbursement 
according to their contracts with the 
agency.  
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§ 5.006 - Consulting Services

An agency may contract with a 
consultant only if:
There is a substantial need for the 
consulting services; and
The agency cannot adequately 
perform the services with its own 
personnel or through a contract 
with a state governmental entity.
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§ 5.006 - Consulting Services (cont.)

The selection of consultants is 
based on the following factors:

Demonstrated competence, knowledge, 
and qualifications
Reasonableness of the proposed fee

Preference is given to a consultant 
whose primary place of business is 
in the state
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§ 5.006 - Consulting Services (cont.)

Major consulting services contract
$15,000 for state agencies
$25,000 for institutions of higher education

Steps in a major consulting services contract: 
1. Notify the Legislative Budget Board and the 

Governor’s Budget, Planning and Policy Division of 
the intent to contract.

2. Demonstrate that the agency has complied with 
the requirements in subsections (C) and (D)(1) of 
this section.

3. Obtain a finding of fact from the Governor’s 
Budget, Planning and Policy Division that the 
consulting services are necessary.  Institutions of 
higher education are exempt from this 
requirement. 

4. Document with the Secretary of State for 
publication in the Texas Register.
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§ 5.006 - Consulting Services (cont.)

Consulting by former or retired employees:
Not permitted before the first anniversary of the 
last date of employment with the agency.
The former state employee must disclose 
information on the former state employment.
Reporting of financial interests must be completed 
by the 10th day after the consultant submits the 
offer.
An unforeseen emergency allows consulting 
service before compliance with the above 
requirements.
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§ 5.022 – Interagency Contracts

An interagency contract must 
specify:

The kind and amount of services to be 
furnished, and 
The basis for computing reimbursable 
costs, and
The maximum cost during the period of 
the contract 
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§ 5.022 – Interagency Contracts (cont.)

An interagency contract must be in 
writing unless: 

The contract concerns an emergency for the 
defense or safety of the civil population or in 
planning and preparing for that type of 
emergency, or
the contract concerns a cooperative effort, 
proposed by the governor, for the economic 
development of the state, or
The amount of the contract is less than 
$50,000
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§ 5.024 - Professional Services

Agencies must comply with the Professional 
Services Procurement Act

Tex. Gov’t Code Ann. §§ 2254.001-2254.006

Contracts for professional services is a two 
step process:
1. Select based on demonstrated 

competence and qualifications to 
perform the services 

2. Negotiate for a fair and reasonable price
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§ 5.024 - Professional Services (cont.)

What if you can’t agree on a price with 
your first potential vendor? 
1. End negotiations with the first 

candidate
2. Begin negotiations with the second 

candidate
3. Repeat with more candidates as 

necessary until you reach an 
agreement

Cannot contract with former or retired 
agency employees for professional 
services within one year of leaving the 
agency (see §§ 5.026, 5.028).
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§ 6.058 – Membership Fees to 
Non-Professional Organizations

An agency may pay a membership fee to 
a non-professional organization if:

the agency has specific or implied statutory 
authority for the payment, and
the payment would serve a proper public 
purpose, and
the agency would receive adequate 
consideration in exchange for the payment

An agency may pay a membership fee in 
order to purchase goods or services at a 
discount if it is cost effective.  
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§ 6.060 – Membership Fees to 
Professional Organizations

Membership fees to professional 
organization are payable if: 

The agency has specific or implied statutory 
authority for the payment, and 
The payment would serve a proper public 
purpose, and 
The agency would receive adequate 
consideration 

Head of the agency or that person’s 
designee must first approve the 
expenditure if appropriated funds are 
used  
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§ 6.088 – Retainage

What is retainage?
The part of a public works contract payment 
withheld by a governmental entity to secure 
performance of the contract 

Retainage of more than five percent of 
the periodic contract payments must be 
held in an interest-bearing account
Upon the project’s completion, the 
contractor receives the retainage plus the 
earned interest 
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§ 6.096 - Taxes and Fees

Taxes assessed by the US, 
this state or another state:

An agency is not 
automatically exempt
An agency may not 
voluntarily pay a tax or fee

Taxes and fees assessed by a 
political subdivision of this 
state:

Contact the political 
subdivision and inquire on 
the exempt status.

A state agency may 
reimburse the taxes and fees 
to an independent contractor 
if required by the contract.
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Exercise Time! 



29

Game Time!
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Researching Payments in 
TINS and USAS
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Common Post-Payment Audit Findings

By following the tips on avoiding 
each finding, you can …

Comply with state laws and rules 
regarding expenditures
Save money
Improve internal controls
Avoid future audit findings  
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Security after employee termination

Access to online 
systems must be 
revoked the same 
day
Signature cards must 
be updated within 
five days

Tips:
Keep security 
coordinators 
informed
Have procedures that 
guarantee 
compliance with the 
deadlines
Attend the 
Fundamentals of 
Expenditure 
Approvals and 
Certification training 
class
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Control over expenditure processing

Good internal controls 
reduce the risk of 
fraud
Employees should not 
be able to process 
expenditures without 
oversight

Tips:
Regularly review your 
agency’s internal 
controls 
Do not allow 
transactions to be 
processed by only 
one person, when 
possible
Attend the 
Fundamentals of 
Expenditure 
Approvals and 
Certification training 
class
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Warrant hold

USAS automatically 
checks vendor status 
Agencies must check 
vendor status for:

payments made 
outside USAS (i.e. 
petty cash, travel 
advance, local funds, 
payment cards)
third party 
reimbursements

Tips:
Make sure vendors 
are aware of the 
warrant hold process
Develop procedures 
to verify whether 
vendors are on 
warrant hold before 
making payments
Attend Fiscal 
Management’s 
warrant hold training 
class
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Duplicate payments

Sometimes 
agencies 
mistakenly make 
the same payment 
twice
Common 
situations:

Duplicate invoices 
from vendor
Reimbursing local 
funds

Tip: 
Have procedures 
for lost and 
canceled payments
Before reissuing a 
payment, verify the 
original warrant 
was canceled
Ensure that the 
same payment is 
not made twice 
from different 
funding sources
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Unclaimed property

Texas and other states have 
unclaimed property repositories

Tips:
Periodically check unclaimed property 
Web sites to recover your agency’s 
property
See http://www.window.state.tx.us/up



37

Reimbursement T-Codes

Processing third 
party transactions 
correctly captures 
the correct vendor 
name

Tips:
Use appropriate T-
Code pairs:

Travel – 264/905
Payment cards –
264/905
Employee 
reimbursements 
– 247/904

See FPP A.043: 
Processing Third 
Party Transaction
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Assets and state property accounting

Capital and 
controlled assets 
should be tracked 
in the SPA system
A property tag 
should be attached 
to the asset

Tips:
Ensure every asset 
is accounted for 
and properly 
entered
Update SPA when 
an asset changes 
location or 
assignee
Review SPA 
regularly
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State service accounting

Verify prior state 
service
Apply state service 
correctly for:

Longevity
BRP

Tips:
Carefully review 
prior state service 
of newly hired 
employees
Periodically review 
records for all 
employees
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Exercise Time!
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Objectives

Participants will be able to …
1. Discuss frequently used expenditure 

processing and documentation 
resources

2. Discuss advanced sections of the 
Purchase Policies and Procedures 
Guide

3. Research payments in TINS and USAS
4. Avoid common post-payment audit 

findings


