FMX Home
Glenn Hegar  ·  Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts

CAPPS HR/Payroll User Group Meeting

Date: Tuesday, Oct. 6, 2015
Time: 9 a.m. – 11 a.m.
Location: Travis Bldg., Rm. 1-100
Call-In: 512-936-6765
ID: 8358
Called By: April Shapley, Governance Coordinator
Members: Sona Holmstrom (CPA – FM, Chair); Kennan Zishka (HHS); Jennifer Pennington (TxDOT); Matt Martinez (CPA); Norma Cortez (DPS); Valerie Luna (DMV); Cynthia Rivera (THECB); Jan Evans (Supreme Court)

Agenda

I. Open Meeting

Objective: Provide agencies with updates regarding the CAPPS HR/Payroll Baseline as well as the HHS Production system.

II. Action Items from Previous Meetings

None

III. Agenda Topics

Item Topic Presenter Duration
1. Welcome April Shapley 1 minute
2. Update: Governance Representation for FY16/FY17 April Shapley 5 minutes
3. Production Update: HR/Payroll (HHS) Support Requests (SRs) Sona Holmstrom 5 minutes
4. Production Update: HR/Payroll Central Support Requests (SRs) Sona Holmstrom 15 minutes
5. Training Update April Shapley 5 minutes
6. Project Update: CAPPS Talent Management Agency Deployment Rusty Charlton 5 minutes
7. Project Update: FY16 Deployment Rusty Charlton 10 minutes
8. Project Update: CAPPS HR/Payroll Managed Services Transition Pete Marcell 10 minutes

IV. Closing Items

Any items that need to be included on the next meeting agenda?

V. Adjourn

Meeting Minutes

First & Last Name Email Role/Position Attended
Adrienne Rogers adrienne.rogers@txdmv.gov Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) No
Alice Alvarado alice.alvarado@cpa.texas.gov Comptroller of Public Accounts (CPA) – CAPPS Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP) & Security Administration Supervisor No
Alison Williams alison.williams@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Governance and Training Yes
Allan Martin allan.martin@dir.texas.gov Department of Information Resources (DIR) – Project Manager No
Amy Ramos amy.ramos@cpa.texas.gov CPA Payroll No
Andrea Smith andrea.smith@txcourts.gov Office of Court Administration (OCA) No
April Shapley april.shapley@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Governance Coordinator; Facilitator Yes
Brad Fenton brad.fenton@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Human Resources (HR)/Payroll Team No
Brian Poole brian.poole@txdmv.gov DMV No
Cassy Englerth cassy.englerth@cpa.texas.gov CPA – HR/Payroll Team No
Charlotte Wallace charlotte.wallace@hhsc.state.tx.us Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) – Project Manager No
Chelsa Vinklarek chelsa.vinklarek@hhsc.state.tx.us CPA – HR/Payroll Team No
Cheryl Groeninger cheryl.groeninger@cpa.texas.gov CPA – HR/Payroll Team No
Chris Anderson chris.anderson@cpa.texas.gov CPA – HR/Payroll Team No
Chris Happ chris.happ@cpa.texas.gov CPA Operations Manager No
Cynthia Perez cynthia.perez@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Information and Technology (IT) Oversight No
Cynthia Rivera cynthia.rivera@thecb.state.tx.us THECB – Voting Member Yes
Darryl Lindgens darryl.lindgens@cpa.texas.gov CPA No
Dave Hobson david.hobson@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC – Project Manager No
Dave Stamitoles-C dstami-c@txdmv.gov DMV No
Dena Riede dena.riede@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC – Voting Member Phone
Diane Juul diane.juul@txcourts.gov OCA – Budget No
Dina Czarapata dina.czarapata@cpa.texas.gov CPA No
Don Land don.land@cpa.texas.gov CPA No
Donna Clay donna.clay@cpa.texas.gov Xerox Yes
Donna Harris donna.harris@txdot.gov Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) No
Ed Whiteside ed.whiteside@txdot.gov TxDOT No
Eduardo Marquis eduardo.marquis@dir.texas.gov DIR – Project Manager No
Eduardo Plaza eduardo.plaza@txdmv.gov DMV Phone
Elizabeth Garcia elizabeth.garcia@txdmv.gov DMV – Payroll & Leave Accounting No
Glenna Bowman gbowman@txcourts.gov OCA Chief Financial Officer (CFO) No
Helen Sparks helen.sparks@cpa.texas.gov CPA – IT Software Development No
Ivan Mazoch ivan.mazoch@cpa.texas.gov Xerox No
Ivan Smith ivan.smith@dir.texas.gov DIR – Voting Member No
Jan Evans jan.evans@txcourts.gov Supreme Court – Voting Member Yes
J.P. Wardle j.p.wardle@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC – Contractor No
Jeff Amato jeffrey.amato@cpa.texas.gov CPA – IT Software Development Area Manager No
Jeff Thurwachter jeffrey.thurwachter@cpa.texas.gov CPA No
Jennifer Carter jennifer.carter@cpa.texas.gov CPA – CAPPS Governance Yes
Jennifer Mutschink jennifer.mutschink@dir.texas.gov DIR – Payroll Officer No
Jennifer Pennington jennifer.pennington@txdot.gov TxDOT No
Jennifer Williams jennifer.williams@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC No
Joan McMillan joan.mcmillan@cpa.texas.gov CPA No
Karen Samantha karen.samantha@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC Phone
Katrice Dill katrice.dill@txdmv.gov DMV Phone
Kelley Martin kelley.martin@cpa.texas.gov Xerox No
Kellie Turner kellie.turner@txdot.gov TxDOT – HR/Payroll Voting Member; Project Manager No
Kennan Zishka kennan.zishka@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC – Voting Member Phone
Kenneth Dusing kenneth.dusing@txdmv.gov DMV No
Leo Collas leo.collas@cpa.texas.gov CPA No
Lisa Donnelly lisa.donnelly@tjjd.texas.gov Texas Juvenile Justice Department (TJJD) No
Lisa Glenn lisa.glenn@hhsc.state.tx.gov HHSC Phone
Lori Ely lori.ely@cpa.texas.gov CPA – HR/Payroll production team Yes
Mark Johannsen mark.johannsen@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC – IT Oversight Yes
Matt Martinez matt.martinez@cpa.texas.gov CPA – HR/Payroll Team Yes
Michele Lampkin michele.lampkin@dir.texas.gov DIR – Voting Member No
Mickey Gregory mickey.gregory@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC – Voting Member No
Mike Markl mike.markl@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC No
Morris Arnold morris.arnold@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC No
Nancy Simmons nancy.simmons@txcourts.gov OCA HR Phone
Nelson Rios nelson.riosgonzalez@txdot.gov TxDOT No
Nikki Zito nikki.zito@cpa.texas.gov CPA HR/Payroll Team No
Norma Cortez norma.cortez@dps.texas.gov DPS – HR Director, Voting Member Yes
Paul Garza paul.garza@cpa.texas.gov CPA – HR/Payroll Team No
Pete Marcell pete.marcell@cpa.texas.gov CPA No
Phyllis Dawson phyllis.dawson@txdmv.gov DMV – Financial Reporting No
Randa Maldonado randa.maldonado@dir.texas.gov DIR – Voting Member No
Rebecca Kelly rebecca.kelly@cpa.texas.gov CPA – HR/Payroll Team No
Reggie Pegues reginold.pegues@dir.texas.gov DIR – Director of Accounting No
Rocio Perez rocio.perez@txdot.gov TxDOT – ERP Project Manager No
RoShana Adamson roshana.adamson@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Governance & Training No
Russell Charlton russell.charlton@cpa.texas.gov CPA – CAPPS Project Manager Yes
Sandra Woodruff sandra.woodruff@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Ast. Director, Fiscal Management No
Saundra Farley saundra.farley@cpa.texas.gov CPA – HR/Payroll production team Yes
Scott Blesener william.blesener@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC No
Sergio Rey sergio.rey @txdmv.gov DMV Phone
Sharon Brewer sharon.brewer@txdmv.gov DMV – HR Director No
Sheila Benavides sheila.benavides@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC No
Shelley Casas shelley.casas@cpa.texas.gov CPA Security No
Sona Holmstrom sona.holmstrom@cpa.texas.gov CPA – HR/Payroll Team Yes
Stacey Hassin stacey.hassin@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Voting Member; HR/Payroll Team Lead No
Stephen Keltgen stephen.keltgen@dir.texas.gov DIR PM Yes
Steve Duvall steve.duvall@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Time and Labor (T&L) No
Sylvia Hood sylvia.hood@txdmv.gov DMV – Project Manager No
Sylvia Mraz sylvia.mraz@txdot.gov TxDOT No
Tanya Aragon tanya.aragon@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC – Contract Oversight No
Theresa Pratt theresa.pratt@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC No
Tim Meredith tim.meredith@cpa.texas.gov CPA IT Support No
Tina Washington tina.washington@txcourts.gov OCA Deputy CFO No
Valerie Luna valerie.luna@txdmv.gov DMV – HR Phone
Wayne Haynes wayne.haynes@cpa.texas.gov CAPPS IT – Software Development No
  1. Welcome – April Shapley
    • Roll call for phone participants.
    • Quorum confirmed.
  2. Governance Representation FY16-FY17 – April Shapley
    • Welcomed the new agency representatives for FY16-FY17.
  3. Help Desk Update – LB Brady
    • Beginning on November 9, 2015, the CAPPS Help Desk hours will change from 7:00 am – 6:00 pm to 8:00 am – 5:00 pm.
  4. Production Update: HHS HR/Payroll Support Requests (SRs) – Sona Holmstrom
    • Reviewed handouts with members.
    • HHS HR/Payroll is currently in a soft code freeze. Only high SRs are being worked.
    • Currently there are 16 high SRs for HHS HR/Payroll.
  5. Production Update: HR/Payroll Central Support Requests (SRs) – Sona Holmstrom
    • Reviewed handouts with members.
    • HR/Payroll Central is currently in a soft code freeze. Only high SRs are being worked.
    • Currently there are 35 high SRs for HR/Payroll Central.
      • Two in User Acceptance Testing (UAT), 15 are assigned, 7 in work, 1 in system test and 10 in transition.
    • The upward trend is related to Fiscal Year End (FYE).
    • SRs 137, 139, 141, 145 and 147 were completed and are in Production.
  6. Training Update – April Shapley
    • The CAPPS Training website (http://cappstraining.cpa.texas.gov/) contains all of the training materials for CAPPS.
    • The website now includes training for the new Enterprise Portal. The Enterprise Portal goes live Monday, October 12.
  7. Project Update: CAPPS Talent Management Agency Deployment – Russell Charlton
    • The CAPPS HR/Payroll deployment for DMV, OCA and DIR was last May.
      • The CAPPS Talent Management deployment will be Phase 2 for these agencies.
    • Talent Management consists of three modules: CAPPS Goals and Performance Management, Recruit and Learn.
    • Go-Live for CAPPS Recruit and Learn is set for January 11, 2016.
    • Go-Live for CAPPS Goals and Performance Management is set for February 11, 2016.
    • There are currently three items for management attention and two have a path to resolution:
      • Oracle solution for automated integration to Work in Texas.
      • Oracle solution for Recruit (will be completed after transition to Accenture, similar to HHS using Verv).
    • Managed Services: CPA is transitioning to a new data center and new support system with Accenture.
    • The FY16 Deploying agencies will start working on Talent Management in February 2016 after Recruit and Learn go live. Goals and Performance Management will go-live next July for FY16 agencies.
    • No enhancements will be made to this cloud-based system. Agencies will have to change their business processes.
    • The Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) is expected to send an interface file to connect to Work In Texas.
  8. Project Update: CAPPS FY16 Deployment – Russell Charlton
    • CAPPS HR/Payroll will be implemented at 26 agencies with a total Full Time Equivalent (FTE) count of approximately 18,000 – 20,000 people.
    • The Review phase is complete and the project is currently in the Discovery phase.
    • The CAPPS team is performing gap analysis and writing Functional Design Documents (FDDs).
    • Enhancements will be presented at the next User Group meeting and most are related to legislative needs at DPS.
    • The expected go-live date is July 11, 2016 (plus or minus two days due to payroll).
  9. Project Update: CAPPS HR/Payroll Managed Services Transition – Pete Marcell
    • The transition to a Managed Services vendor will include the creation of a new Enterprise Portal for CAPPS.
    • The scheduled go-live date is October 12, 2015.
    • The Testing phase is now 100% complete.
    • Cutover will take place this weekend (Friday, Oct. 9 at 5pm – Monday, Oct. 12 at 8am) and detailed communications will be sent later this week.
    • The new Enterprise Portal training materials are available on the CAPPS training website.
  10. Adjourn
Glenn Hegar
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Questions? Contact statewide.accounting@cpa.texas.gov
Comptroller.Texas.Gov | FMX
FMX Sitemap | Contact FM
Accessibility Policy | Privacy and Security Policy