FMX Home
Glenn Hegar  ·  Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts

CAPPS HR/Payroll User Group Meeting

Date: Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Time: 9 a.m. – 11 a.m.
Location: Travis Bldg., Rm. 1-100
Call-In: 512-936-6765
ID: 8358
Called By: April Shapley, Governance Coordinator
Members: Sona Holmstrom (CPA – FM, Chair); Kennan Zishka (HHS); Jennifer Pennington (TxDOT); Sharon Brewer (DMV); Jennifer Mutschink (DIR)

Agenda

I. Open Meeting

Objective: Provide agencies with updates regarding the CAPPS HR/Payroll Baseline as well as the HHS Production system.

II. Action Items from Previous Meetings

None

III. Agenda Topics

Item Topic Presenter Duration
1. Welcome April Shapley 1 minute
2. Production Update: HR/Payroll (HHS) Support Requests (SRs) Sona Holmstrom 5 minutes
3. Production Update: HR/Payroll Central Support Requests (SRs) Sona Holmstrom 5 minutes
4. Production Update: Upcoming System Maintenance Chris Happ 5 minutes
5. Project Update: HR/Payroll Deployment FY 15 Rusty Charlton 5 minutes
6. Project Update: CAPPS Talent Management Agency Deployment Rusty Charlton 5 minutes
7. Project Update: CAPPS HR/Payroll Managed Services Transition Pete Marcell 10 minutes
8. Project Update: Business Objects Pete Marcell 10 minutes
9. Governance Reminder: Voting on Governance Representation for FY16/FY17 April Shapley 5 minutes
10. Legislative Impacts to CAPPS FYE Cassy Englerth & Vicki Smith 45 minutes

IV. Closing Items

Any items that need to be included on the next meeting agenda?

V. Adjourn

Meeting Minutes

First & Last Name Email Role/Position Attended
Adrienne Rogers adrienne.rogers@txdmv.gov Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) Yes
Alice Alvarado alice.alvarado@cpa.texas.gov Comptroller of Public Accounts (CPA) – CAPPS Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP) & Security Administration Supervisor No
Alison Williams alison.williams@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Governance and Training Yes
Allan Martin allan.martin@dir.texas.gov Department of Information Resources (DIR) – Project Manager No
Allen Dufault allen.dufault@cpa.texas.gov Xerox No
Amy Ramos amy.ramos@cpa.texas.gov CPA Payroll No
Andrea Smith andrea.smith@txcourts.gov Office of Court Administration (OCA) Yes
April Shapley april.shapley@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Governance Coordinator; Facilitator Yes
Brad Fenton brad.fenton@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Human Resources (HR)/Payroll Team Yes
Brian Poole brian.poole@txdmv.gov DMV No
Cassy Englerth cassy.englerth@cpa.texas.gov CPA – HR/Payroll Team Yes
Charlotte Wallace charlotte.wallace@hhsc.state.tx.us Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) – Project Manager No
Chelsa Vinklarek chelsa.vinklarek@hhsc.state.tx.us CPA – HR/Payroll Team Yes
Cheryl Groeninger cheryl.groeninger@cpa.texas.gov CPA – HR/Payroll Team Yes
Chris Anderson chris.anderson@cpa.texas.gov CPA – HR/Payroll Team Yes
Chris Happ chris.happ@cpa.texas.gov CPA Operations Manager No
Cynthia Perez cynthia.perez@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Information and Technology (IT) Oversight No
Darryl Lindgens darryl.lindgens@cpa.texas.gov CPA Yes
Dave Hobson david.hobson@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC – Project Manager No
Dave Stamitoles-C dstami-c@txdmv.gov DMV No
Dena Riede dena.riede@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC – Voting Member No
Diane Juul diane.juul@txcourts.gov OCA Budget No
Dina Czarapata dina.czarapata@cpa.texas.gov CPA Yes
Don Land don.land@cpa.texas.gov CPA No
Donna Clay donna.clay@cpa.texas.gov Xerox Yes
Donna Harris donna.harris@txdot.gov Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) No
Ed Whiteside ed.whiteside@txdot.gov TxDOT No
Eduardo Marquis eduardo.marquis@dir.texas.gov DIR – Project Manager No
Elizabeth Garcia elizabeth.garcia@txdmv.gov DMV – Payroll & Leave Accounting No
Glenna Bowman gbowman@txcourts.gov OCA CFO No
Helen Sparks helen.sparks@cpa.texas.gov CPA – IT Software Development No
Ivan Mazoch ivan.mazoch@cpa.texas.gov Xerox No
Ivan Smith ivan.smith@dir.texas.gov DIR – Voting Member No
Jan Petreczko jan.petreczko@cpa.texas.gov CPA Yes
J.P. Wardle j.p.wardle@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC – Contractor No
Jeff Amato jeffrey.amato@cpa.texas.gov CPA – IT Software Development Area Manager No
Jeff Thurwachter jeffrey.thurwachter@cpa.texas.gov CPA Yes
Jennifer Mutschink jennifer.mutschink@dir.texas.gov DIR – Payroll Officer No
Jennifer Pennington jennifer.pennington@txdot.gov TxDOT Yes
Jennifer Williams jennifer.williams@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC No
Joan McMillan joan.mcmillan@cpa.texas.gov CPA Yes
Juana Reyes juana.reyes@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Production Analyst No
Kelley Martin kelley.martin@cpa.texas.gov Xerox No
Kellie Turner kellie.turner@txdot.gov TxDOT – HR/Payroll Voting Member; Project Manager No
Kennan Zishka kennan.zishka@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC – Voting Member Phone
Kenneth Dusing kenneth.dusing@txdmv.gov DMV No
Leo Collas leo.collas@cpa.texas.gov CPA Yes
Lisa Donnelly lisa.donnelly@tjjd.texas.gov Texas Juvenile Justice Department (TJJD) No
Mark Johannson mark.johannson@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC – IT Oversight Yes
Michele Lampkin michele.lampkin@dir.texas.gov DIR – Voting Member No
Mickey Gregory mickey.gregory@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC – Voting Member No
Mike Markl mike.markl@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC No
Morris Arnold morris.arnold@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC No
Nancy Simmons nancy.simmons@txcourts.gov OCA HR Yes
Nelson Rios nelson.riosgonzalez@txdot.gov TxDOT No
Nikki Zito nikki.zito@cpa.texas.gov CPA HR/Payroll Team Yes
Paul Garza paul.garza@cpa.texas.gov CPA – HR/Payroll Team No
Pete Marcell pete.marcell@cpa.texas.gov CPA Yes
Phyllis Dawson phyllis.dawson@txdmv.gov DMV – Financial Reporting No
Randa Maldonado randa.maldonado@dir.texas.gov DIR – Voting Member No
Rebecca Kelly rebecca.kelly@cpa.texas.gov CPA – HR/Payroll Team No
Reggie Pegues reginold.pegues@dir.texas.gov DIR – Director of Accounting No
Ricky McKinley rickey.mckinley@cpa.texas.gov CPA – IT Oversight No
Rocio Perez rocio.perez@txdot.gov TxDOT – ERP Project Manager No
RoShana Adamson roshana.adamson@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Governance & Training Yes
Russell Charlton russell.charlton@cpa.texas.gov CPA – CAPPS Project Manager Yes
Sandra Woodruff sandra.woodruff@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Ast. Director, Fiscal Management No
Scott Blesener william.blesener@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC No
Sergio Rey sergio.rey @txdmv.gov DMV Phone
Sharon Brewer sharon.brewer@txdmv.gov DMV – HR Director No
Sheila Benavides sheila.benavides@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC Yes
Shelley Casas shelley.casas@cpa.texas.gov CPA Security Yes
Sona Holmstrom sona.holmstrom@cpa.texas.gov CPA – HR/Payroll Team Yes
Stacey Hassin stacey.hassin@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Voting Member; HR/Payroll Team Lead Yes
Stephen Keltgen stephen.keltgen@dir.texas.gov DIR PM Yes
Steve Duvall steve.duvall@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Time and Labor (T&L) No
Sylvia Hood sylvia.hood@txdmv.gov DMV – Project Manager No
Sylvia Mraz sylvia.mraz@txdot.gov TxDOT No
Tanya Aragon tanya.aragon@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC – Contract Oversight No
Theresa Pratt theresa.pratt@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC Yes
Tim Meredith tim.meredith@cpa.texas.gov CPA IT Support No
Tina Washington tina.washington@txcourts.gov OCA Deputy CFO No
Valerie Luna valerie.luna@txdmv.gov DMV – HR No
Wayne Haynes wayne.haynes@cpa.texas.gov CAPPS IT – Software Development No
  1. Welcome – April Shapley
    • Roll call for phone participants.
    • Quorum confirmed.
  2. Production Update: HR/Payroll (HHS) Support Requests (SRs) – Sona Holmstrom
    • User group members were provided with a report of all active SRs on the HR/Payroll System.
    • The CPA Maintenance Team is currently only working critical and high SRs due to the soft code freeze.
    • Currently there are 24 high SRs for HHS.
      • 19 out of the 24 high SRs are for Fiscal Year End (FYE).
  3. Production Update: HR/Payroll Central Support Requests (SRs) FY15 – Sona Holmstrom
    • User group members were provided with a report of all active SRs on the HR/Payroll system.
    • The CPA Maintenance Team is currently only working critical and high SRs due to the soft code freeze.
    • Currently there are 58 high SRs for HR/Payroll Central.
      • 18 out of the 58 are for FYE.
  4. Production Update: Upcoming System Maintenance – Darryl Lindgens
    • No maintenance is scheduled for next month (August).
    • If anything changes, a notification will be sent out to Level 1s.
  5. Project Update: HR/Payroll Deployment FY 15 – Russell Charlton
    • CAPPS HR/Payroll went live on May 13, 2015 at four new agencies (DIR, DMV, OCA and Office of the State Prosecuting Attorney).
    • This will be the final update for this project.
    • The next phase is Maintenance and Post-Production support.
    • Next year an additional 26 agencies will implement CAPPS HR/Payroll.
  6. Project Update: CAPPS Talent Management Agency Deployment – Russell Charlton
    • Last month we reported on six key issues requiring a resolution or path to resolution. Two of those issues were resolved.
    • There are currently four Items for management attention:
      • Oracle solution for efficient User Administration (SSO)
      • Oracle solution for automated integration to Work in Texas
      • Oracle resource requirements for Performance Management
      • Modifications to CAPPS HR custom hire functionality
  7. Project Update: CAPPS HR/Payroll Managed Services Transition – Peter Marcell
    • The HR/Payroll Production soft freeze is scheduled to begin August 10, 2015.
    • The Production HR/Payroll hard freeze is scheduled to begin September 1, 2015.
    • Accenture will be CPA’s Managed Services vendor, and will host the CAPPS environments in the cloud.
  8. Project Update: Business Objects – Peter Marcell
    • Business Objects 4.1 was not intended to be multi-tenant, and ultimately CPA decided not to upgrade to 4.1.
    • CPA is working to upgrade Business Objects 3.1.
    • Reports that migrated are currently going through User Acceptance Testing (UAT).
    • The targeted go-live date for reports is August 3.
  9. Governance Reminder: Voting on Governance Representation for FY16/FY17 – April Shapley
    • Reminder: Voting on new Governance representatives to take place soon.
    • New agencies are implementing CAPPS and will be eligible to select representatives.
  10. Legislative Impacts to CAPPS FYE – Cassy Englerth & Vicki Smith
    • SRs have already been submitted to address various Legislative Bill impacts.
    • FYE procedures and deadlines were reviewed with UG members.
    • The following Legislative Bills were reviewed in detail:
      • HB 1 – General Appropriations Bill
      • HB 9 – relates to member contributions to the Employees Retirement System of Texas.
      • HB 48 – relates to the establishment of a commission to review convictions after exoneration and to prevent wrongful conviction.
      • HB 197 – relates to requiring a public institution of higher education to post information regarding mental health resources on the institution’s Internet website.
      • HB 437 – relates to eligibility to participate in health benefit programs for certain state employees re-employed after military service.
      • HB 445 – relates to providing notice of the availability of paid leave for military service to public officers and employees.
      • HB 577 – relates to pay, benefits and requirements for state active duty service members.
      • HB 658 – relates to the creation of a campus of the Texas State Technical College System in Fort Bend County.
      • HB 685 – relates to the production of public information available on the website of a political subdivision of this state.
      • HB 786 – relates to the right of a public employee to express breast milk in the workplace.
      • HB 966 – relates to the creation of an optional consumer-directed health plan for certain individuals eligible to participate in the group benefits program provided under the Texas Employees Group Benefits Act and their qualified dependents.
      • HB1051 – relates to the creation of a campus of the Texas State Technical College System in Ellis County.
      • HB 1311 – relates to the confidentiality of personal information concerning certain employees currently or formerly involved in the Texas Juvenile Justice system.
      • HB 1443 – relates to the Texas Identification Number system.
      • HB 1771 – relates to the donation of sick leave by state employees.
      • HB 1912 – relates to employment of a statewide data coordinator at DIR.
      • HB 2037 – relates to compensation and leave for certain peace officers.
      • HB 2152 – relates to the confidentiality of certain information concerning service members of the state military forces.
      • HB 2168 – relates to payment dates for annuities from the Teachers Retirement System of Texas.
      • HB 3307 – relates to the authority of the Employees Retirement System of Texas to make available a TRICARE Military Health System Supplemental plan.
      • HB 3337 – relates to training and education for state agency administrators and employees.
      • SB 34 – relates to a report concerning information security for this state’s information resources.
      • SB 317 – relates to The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley.
      • SB 374 – relates to requiring state agencies to participate in the federal electronic verification of employment authorization program, or E-verify.
      • SB 389 – relates to the placement of military occupational specialty codes on certain notices of state agency employment openings.
      • SB 664 – relates to employment termination for falsification of military record in obtaining employment or employment benefits.
      • SB 805 – relates to the employment of individuals qualified for a veteran’s employment preference.
      • SB 1743 – relates to expanding the powers and duties of the Office of Capital Writs and renaming it Office of Capital and Forensic Writs.
      • SB1877 – relates to the development and maintenance by each state agency of a data use agreement for the state agency’s employees and to training related to that agreement.
  11. Adjourn
Glenn Hegar
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Questions? Contact statewide.accounting@cpa.texas.gov
Comptroller.Texas.Gov | FMX
FMX Sitemap | Contact FM
Accessibility Policy | Privacy and Security Policy