FMX Home
Glenn Hegar  ·  Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts

CAPPS HR/Payroll User Group Meeting

Date: Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Time: 9 a.m. – 11 a.m.
Location: Travis Bldg., Rm. 1-111
Call-In: 512-936-6765
ID: 6976
Called By: April Shapley, Governance Coordinator
Members: Sona Holmstrom (CPA – FM, Chair); Kennan Zishka (HHS); Jennifer Pennington (TxDOT); Sharon Brewer (DMV); Jennifer Mutschink (DIR)

Agenda

I. Open Meeting

Objective: Provide agencies with updates regarding the CAPPS HR/Payroll Baseline as well as the HHS Production system.

II. Action Items from Previous Meetings

None

III. Agenda Topics

Item Topic Presenter Duration
1. Welcome April Shapley 1 minute
2. Update on HR/Payroll (HHS) Support Request (SRs) Sona Holmstrom 5 minutes
3. Update on HR/Payroll Deployment FY 15 Rusty Charlton 5 minutes
4. Present and Discuss Deployment Enhancements submitted to Governance Becca Murdock 30 minutes
5. Update on CAPPS Talent Management Agency Deployment Rusty Charlton 5 minutes
6. Update on Upcoming Maintenance Chris Happ 5 minutes

IV. Closing Items

Any items that need to be included on the next meeting agenda?

V. Adjourn

Meeting Minutes

First & Last Name Email Role/Position Attended
Alice Alvarado alice.alvarado@cpa.texas.gov Comptroller of Public Accounts (CPA) – CAPPS Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP) & Security Administration Supervisor Yes
Alison Williams alison.williams@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Governance and Training Yes
Allan Martin allan.martin@dir.texas.gov Department of Information Resources (DIR) – Project Manager No
Allen Dufault allen.dufault@cpa.texas.gov Xerox No
Amy Ramos amy.ramos@cpa.texas.gov CPA Payroll No
April Shapley april.shapley@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Governance Coordinator; Facilitator Yes
Brad Fenton brad.fenton@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Human Resources (HR)/Payroll Team No
Brian Poole brian.poole@txdmv.gov Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) No
Cassy Englerth cassy.englerth@cpa.texas.gov CPA – HR/Payroll Team Yes
Charlotte Wallace charlotte.wallace@hhsc.state.tx.us Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) – Project Manager Phone
Chelsa Vinklarek chelsa.vinklarek@hhsc.state.tx.us CPA – HR/Payroll Team Yes
Cheryl Groeninger cheryl.groeninger@cpa.texas.gov CPA – HR/Payroll Team No
Chris Anderson chris.anderson@cpa.texas.gov CPA – HR/Payroll Team Yes
Chris Happ chris.happ@cpa.texas.gov CPA Operations Manager Yes
Cynthia Perez cynthia.perez@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Information and Technology (IT) Oversight Yes
Darryl Lindgens darryl.lindgens@cpa.texas.gov CPA No
Dave Hobson david.hobson@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC – Project Manager No
Dave Stamitoles-C dstami-c@txdmv.gov DMV No
DeLisa Beals delisa.beals@cpa.texas.gov CPA – HR/Payroll Team No
Dena Riede dena.riede@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC – Voting Member No
Diane Juul diane.juul@txcourts.gov OCA Budget No
Dina Czarapata dina.czarapata@cpa.texas.gov CPA Yes
Don Land don.land@cpa.texas.gov CPA No
Donna Clay donna.clay@cpa.texas.gov Xerox Yes
Donna Harris donna.harris@txdot.gov Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) No
Ed Whiteside ed.whiteside@txdot.gov TxDOT No
Eduardo Marquis eduardo.marquis@dir.texas.gov DIR – Project Manager No
Elizabeth Garcia elizabeth.garcia@txdmv.gov DMV – Payroll & Leave Accounting No
Glenna Bowman gbowman@txcourts.gov OCA CFO No
Helen Sparks helen.sparks@cpa.texas.gov CPA – IT Software Development Yes
Ivan Mazoch ivan.mazoch@cpa.texas.gov Xerox No
Ivan Smith ivan.smith@dir.texas.gov DIR – Voting Member No
J.P. Wardle j.p.wardle@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC – Contractor Phone
Jeff Amato jeffrey.amato@cpa.texas.gov CPA – IT Software Development Area Manager No
Jennifer Mutschink jennifer.mutschink@dir.texas.gov DIR – Payroll Officer Phone
Jennifer Pennington jennifer.pennington@txdot.gov TxDOT Yes
Jennifer Williams jennifer.williams@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC No
Joan McMillan joan.mcmillan@cpa.texas.gov CPA Yes
Juana Reyes juana.reyes@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Production Analyst No
Kelley Martin kelley.martin@cpa.texas.gov Xerox No
Kellie Turner kellie.turner@txdot.gov TxDOT – HR/Payroll Voting Member; Project Manager No
Kennan Zishka kennan.zishka@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC – Voting Member Yes
Kenneth Dusing kenneth.dusing@txdmv.gov DMV No
Leslie Cruz leslie.cruz@hrm.northgatearinso.com NGA Phone
Lisa Donnelly lisa.donnelly@tjjd.texas.gov Texas Juvenile Justice Department (TJJD) No
Mark Johannson mark.johannson@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC – IT Oversight No
Mary Dubey mary.dubey@txdot.gov TxDOT – Time and Labor (T&L) Yes
Michael Steedley michael.steedley@cpa.texas.gov CPA Yes
Michele Lampkin michele.lampkin@dir.texas.gov DIR – Voting Member No
Mickey Gregory mickey.gregory@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC – Voting Member No
Mike Markl mike.markl@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC No
Morris Arnold morris.arnold@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC No
Nancy Simmons nancy.simmons@txcourts.gov OCA HR Phone
Nelson Rios nelson.riosgonzalez@txdot.gov TxDOT No
Nikki Zito nikki.zito@cpa.texas.gov CPA HR/Payroll Team No
Paul Garza paul.garza@cpa.texas.gov CPA – HR/Payroll Team No
Phyllis Dawson phyllis.dawson@txdmv.gov DMV – Financial Reporting No
Randa Maldonado randa.maldonado@dir.texas.gov DIR – Voting Member No
Rebecca Kelly rebecca.kelly@cpa.texas.gov CPA – HR/Payroll Team No
Reggie Pegues reginold.pegues@dir.texas.gov DIR – Director of Accounting No
Ricky McKinley rickey.mckinley@cpa.texas.gov CPA – IT Oversight No
Rocio Perez rocio.perez@txdot.gov TxDOT – ERP Project Manager No
RoShana Adamson roshana.adamson@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Governance & Training Yes
Russell Charlton russell.charlton@cpa.texas.gov CPA – CAPPS Project Manager Yes
Sandra Woodruff sandra.woodruff@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Manager, Statewide Fiscal Systems No
Scott Blesener william.blesener@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC No
Sergio Rey sergio.rey @txdmv.gov DMV Phone
Sharon Brewer sharon.brewer@txdmv.gov DMV – HR Director No
Shelley Casas shelley.casas@cpa.texas.gov CPA Security Yes
Sheila Benavides sheila.benavides@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC Yes
Sona Holmstrom sona.holmstrom@cpa.texas.gov CPA – HR/Payroll Team Yes
Stacey Hassin stacey.hassin@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Voting Member; HR/Payroll Team Lead No
Stephen Keltgen stephen.keltgen@dir.texas.gov DIR PM Yes
Steve Duvall steve.duvall@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Time and Labor (T&L) No
Sue Park sue.park@txdot.gov TxDOT – Payroll Yes
Sylvia Hood sylvia.hood@txdmv.gov DMV – Project Manager No
Sylvia Mraz sylvia.mraz@txdot.gov TxDOT No
Tanya Aragon tanya.aragon@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC – Contract Oversight Phone
Teri Augustine teri.augustine@txdot.gov TxDOT Phone
Theresa Pratt theresa.pratt@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC Yes
Tim Meredith tim.meredith@cpa.texas.gov CPA IT Support No
Tina Washington tina.washington@txcourts.gov OCA Deputy CFO No
Valerie Luna valerie.luna@txdmv.gov DMV – HR No
Wayne Haynes wayne.haynes@cpa.texas.gov CAPPS IT – Software Development No
  1. Welcome – April Shapley
    • Roll call for phone participants.
    • Quorum confirmed.
  2. Update on CAPPS HR/Payroll (HHS) Support Requests (SRs) – Sona Holmstrom
    • User group members were provided with a report of all active SRs for 9.1.
    • Only the high and critical SRs are being worked due to the soft code freeze.
    • There are currently 11 high SRs.
  3. HR/Payroll Deployment FY15 – Project Status Update – Russell Charlton
    • CAPPS HR/Payroll was successfully implemented at four new agencies on May 13, 2015.
    • CPA is currently in the post-implementation phase, which will continue through August 2015.
    • Open SRs and reports are discussed weekly by the CAPPS Maintenance Team.
    • There are currently no major concerns.
    • There are currently 14 high SRs.
  4. Review Enhancements Submitted to Governance – Magdalena Foley
    • Magdalena reviewed the 8 SRs submitted to Governance:
      • SR 221: query to list contingent workers by hire and termination date and hours worked per day (based on date parameter).
      • SR 222: create a query or report to show the projected conversion hours for the entire agency. Agency will utilize for advance notification of employees time scheduled to be converted. The existing Fiscal Year End (FYE) Annual Leave Conversion Report shows the values that are updated with the process, but does not provide a projected report.
      • SR 223: create a query to show expiring time for entire agency. Agencies will utilize to inform employees in advance of their time to be expired.
      • SR 224: a tax report on quarterly wages by county and pay periods for each agency.
      • SR 225: a report is needed to identify employee and employer taxable difference amounts (OASDI/Medicare taxable gross/tax amounts).
      • SR 226: a report is needed to show employees not paid for Company/Pay Group/Pay End Date.
      • SR 227: a report is needed to show employees whose QTD/YTD tax balances are negative. This provides early detection and allows for the entry of corrective balance adjustments throughout the year.
      • SR 228: a report is needed to show payment expenditures by the position based on payroll details. This may be modeled after USPS report 153. This report displays payment and deduction data (gross to net) for each employee for the current payroll at sub-deduction level. This includes any adjustments or cancellations processed on that payroll. Current, MTD and YTD totals are provided on a summary page along with the number of transactions processed.
    • The survey to vote on these SRs will be sent to the UG following this meeting.
  5. Update on CAPPS Talent Management Agency Deployment – Russell Charlton
    • Talent Management will include the following three modules: (1) Learn, (2) Recruit and (3) Goals and Performance Management.
    • CPA is conducting preliminary scoping and project planning with Oracle for implementation of these three modules.
    • CPA does not currently have an anticipated Go-Live date for Talent Management.
      • CPA is working to identify resources for this effort.
    • CPA is working to determine when agencies will be engaged.
  6. Update on Upcoming Maintenance – Christine Happ
    • Maintenance to our shared storage will begin this weekend and will continue throughout the summer.
    • Notifications will be sent out for upcoming maintenance and any additional extended maintenance periods.
  7. Adjourn
Glenn Hegar
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Questions? Contact statewide.accounting@cpa.texas.gov
Comptroller.Texas.Gov | FMX
FMX Sitemap | Contact FM
Accessibility Policy | Privacy and Security Policy