FMX Home
Glenn Hegar  ·  Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts

CAPPS Financials User Group Meeting Notes
Sept. 5, 2013

9 a.m. to 11 a.m.
Travis Building, Room 1-111

Agenda

  1. Open Meeting
  2. Action Items from Previous Meetings
  3. Update on CAPPS Financials Project Initiatives
  4. Update on CAPPS Financials Governance Approved SRs
  5. Update on DR Testing
  6. Overview of Purchasing Best Practices Focus Groups
  7. Update on Shared Storage
  8. Update on Upcoming Maintenance
  9. Closing Items

Participants

First & Last Name Email Role/Position Attending?
Alice Alvarado alice.alvarado@cpa.texas.gov Supervisor – Enterprise Resource Planning & Security Administration Yes
Alison Meier alison.meier@cpa.texas.gov Comptroller of Public Accounts (CPA) - Governance & Training Yes
Andrew Shores andrew.shores@txdot.gov Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) - FIN UG Voting Member Yes
April Shapley april.shapley@cpa.texas.gov CPA - Governance Coordinator Yes
Becca Murdock rebecca.murdock@cpa.texas.gov CPA - Financials Lead Yes
Don Land don.land@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Budget & Internal Accounting Yes
Ginger Salone ginger.salone@cpa.texas.gov Xerox Yes
Glynis Butruff glynis.butruff@tdi.texas.gov Texas Department of Insurance (TDI) Yes
Jeff Amato jeffrey.amato@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Assistant Area Manager Yes
Joe Meyer joe.meyer@tdi.texas.gov TDI – Project Manager Yes
John Scales john.scales@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Financials Team Yes
Juana Reyes juana.reyes@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Software Development Production Analyst Yes
Linda Daylamani linda.daylamani@cpa.texas.gov CPA  – Governance & Training Yes
Marissa Duron marissa.duron@tdi.texas.gov TDI Yes
Reggie Pegues reginold.pegues@dir.texas.gov Department of Information Resources – Director of Accounting Yes
Shawana Ellison shawana.ellison@hhsc.state.tx.us Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) -  IT Financial Analyst Phone
Stephen McDonald stephen.mcdonald@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Director of Purchasing Yes
Steve Schiurring steve.schiurring@cpa.texas.gov CPA – CAPPS Financials Yes

Note: Andrew Shores is the new TxDOT voting representative attending this meeting (TxDOT- FIN UG Voting Member).

  1. Update on CAPPS Financials Project Initiatives (Becca Murdock)
    • Service Request (SR) 1807 – Convert TINS “2” Vendor Numbers to “7” Numbers
      • Complete
    • SR 1808 – Conversion of Crystal Reports
      • Currently in progress and on schedule for Oct. 1, 2013.
    • SR 1827 – Asset Management Capitalization Functionality
      • Currently working on the clean-up and security changes.
    • SR 1847 – Requisition Load Process Initiative
      • Currently internal CPA users continue to test in User Acceptance Testing (UAT) to determine if further functional changes needed.
  2. Update on CAPPS Financials Governance Approved SRs (Becca Murdock)
    • SR 1051 – Load USAS Revenue
      • On hold until the 9.2 upgrade is complete.
    • SR 1273 – Show Back Orders
      • Migrated to production.
    • SR 1274 – Static Price for MSR and RMA
      • Deferred until after the 9.2 upgrade is complete.
    • SR 1495 – Accounts Receivable Billing Interface
      • Migrating to production tonight (Sept. 5, 2013).
  3. Update on 9.2 Upgrade
    • Currently in process and the team has finished adding test scripts.
    • The beginning of UAT is scheduled for Nov. 11, 2013.
    • All pages will change slightly. The team will identify which pages will require a re-recording in the User Productivity Kit (UPK).
    • CPA aims to let agencies know of user impacting changes during UAT.
    • A document will be provided at the UAT Kickoff meeting that outlines the changes.
  4. Update on Disaster Recovery (DR) Testing (Becca Murdock)
    • The team completed tree top testing and then full system testing to validate the recovery.
    • The process was smooth and successful.
  5. Purchasing Best Practice Focus Groups (John Scales)
    • Best Practice Focus Groups will soon be scheduled to provide CPA, as the Service Provider, with recommendations as well as obtain agency best practices.
    • The first session will likely be held on Sept. 23, 2013.
    • An email will be sent to the Financials User Group once the date/time has been determined and then agencies will select the appropriate staff to attend.
    • The most critical topics will be addressed first and then additional sessions will be scheduled as needed to cover additional topics.
  6. Update on Shared Storage Issue (Jeff Amato)
    • The implementation for a high availability solution for the shared storage issue was delayed due to fiscal year end activities but has now been scheduled for Sept. 29, 2013.
    • The environments will be refreshed and synced up on Sept. 13, 2013.
  7. Action Items
    • CPA will email the first Purchasing Best Practice Focus Group date/time to the Financials User Group once it has been scheduled (Alison Meier/April Shapley).
  8. Next FIN User Group Meeting
    • The next meeting is scheduled to occur on Thursday, Sept. 26, 2013.
Glenn Hegar
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Questions? Contact statewide.accounting@cpa.texas.gov
Comptroller.Texas.Gov | FMX
FMX Sitemap | Contact FM
Accessibility Policy | Privacy and Security Policy