FMX Home
Glenn Hegar  ·  Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts

CAPPS Financials User Group Meeting Notes
April 25, 2013

9 a.m. to 11 a.m.
Travis Building, Room 1-100

Agenda

  1. Open Meeting
  2. Action Items from Previous Meetings
  3. Approval of Meeting Minutes from 3/28/13
  4. Update on CAPPS Financials Project Initiatives
  5. Update on CAPPS Financials Governance Approved SRs
  6. Update on Financials Baseline Efforts
  7. Update on User Queries
  8. Closing Items

Participants

First & Last Name Email Role/Position Attending?
Alison Meier alison.meier@cpa.texas.gov Comptroller of Public Accounts (CPA) - Governance & Training Yes
April Shapley april.shapley@cpa.texas.gov CPA - Governance Coordinator Yes
Becca Murdock rebecca.murdock@cpa.texas.gov CPA - Financials Lead Yes
Cynthia Perez cynthia.perez@cpa.texas.gov CPA - Innovation & Technology (IT) Oversight Yes
Dana Cook dana.cook@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Statewide Systems IT Area Manager Yes
Don Land don.land@cpa.texas.gov CPA Yes
Elizabeth Garcia elizabeth.garcia@txdmv.gov Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) - Payroll & Leave Accounting Yes
Ginger Salone ginger.salone@cpa.texas.gov Xerox - Project Manager Yes
Ivan Mazoch ivan.mazoch@cpa.texas.gov Xerox Yes
Joe Meyer joe.meyer@tdi.texas.gov Texas Department of Insurance (TDI) – Project Manager; Financials User Group (FIN UG) Voting Member Yes
Leonard Higgins leonard.higgins@cpa.texas.gov CPA – FIN UG Voting Member Yes
Oscar Robles oscar.robles@txdot.gov Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) – User Acceptance Testing (UAT) Coordinator Yes
Phyllis Dawson phyllis.dawson@txdmv.gov DMV – Financial Reporting Yes
Reggie Pegues reginold.pegues@dir.texas.gov Department of Information Resources (DIR) – Director of Accounting; FIN UG Voting Member Yes
Rickey McKinley rickey.mckinley@cpa.texas.gov CPA – IT Oversight Yes
Rusty Charlton russell.charlton@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Centralized Accounting and Payroll/Personnel (CAPPS) Project Manager Yes
Sandra Woodruff sandra.woodruff@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Manager, Statewide Fiscal Systems Yes
Stephanie Moll stephanie.moll@cpa.texas.gov CPA – CAPPS Contractor Yes
Stephen McDonald stephen.mcdonald@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Director of Purchasing Yes
Steve Schiurring steve.schiurring@cpa.texas.gov CPA – CAPPS Financials; FIN UG Voting Member Yes
Valerie Luna valerie.luna@txdmv.gov DMV Yes

Meeting Minutes

  1. Previous Action Items
    • Distribute the following documents to the CAPPS Financials User Group distribution list:
      • CAPPS Financials Major Initiatives
      • Governance- Approved Service Requests (SRs) Summary
      • Alternative to Control J Handout
        • Complete
  2. Meeting Minutes Approval – March 28, 2013
    • DECISION: The minutes from the previous meeting held March 28, 2013, are approved.
  3. Update on CAPPS Financials Project Initiatives
    • SR 1808 – Conversion of Crystal Reports
      • Customer Service Requests (CSRs) for each statewide crystal report have been created and are in the functional design/technical development
      • Statewide CSRs are “in queue” for PeopleSoft developers.
      • SRs for CPA agency-specific reports are open in the Business Objects (BO) queue.
      • SRs for DIR are being opened today and will move into the BO queue as well.
      • The CAPPS Maintenance team will review any report for complexity and then determine if the report is appropriate for BO.
      • BO is the first choice for agency reports, but if it is not appropriate to be included in BO then the team will make that decision as needed.
    • SR 1827 – Asset Management Capitalization Functionality
      • Currently in UAT.
      • A demo was provided to the Contracts team at CPA on April 24, 2013.
      • The Contracts team requested changes so this SR will require more work before being completed.
      • Estimated date for completion is currently June.
  4. Update on CAPPS Financials Governance Approved SRs
    • SR 1279 – “Change” Update Support for Accounting Distribution Line
      • This SR had been on hold/deferred while waiting for DIR to make business decisions.
      • DIR has decided to change their business process to accomplish this SR so this has moved into a closed status (closed but not completed).
    • SR 69 – Cannot Track Multiple Vendors With Pro-Contract
      • This SR is completed. It was a PeopleSoft case but the team figured out an approach while waiting for PeopleSoft to fix the issue.
      • The goal is for CAPPS users to be able to manage different vendors within one contract.
      • When one vendor acquires another and a contract is in place, a user can just change the vendor without going through significant rework and additional steps.
  5. Update on Financials Baseline Efforts
    • The CAPPS Maintenance team is on track to provide the packaged baseline to TxDOT by the end of April.
    • Efforts for the application are complete and testing has gone well.
    • The team is currently working on a quality review of the documentation phase.
    • The review of the documentation will be complete by Friday, April 26, at noon.
    • The goal is to package up the baseline effort and transmit that to TxDOT on Monday, April 29.
  6. Update on User Queries
    • PeopleSoft Query reporting will now be easier for power users because:
      • Leo Collas (CPA Security Team Lead) has created instructions to users on how to obtain access to create and run their own queries.
      • A more straightforward method to schedule queries will soon be added for any users with access to query.
      • A change in the CPA infrastructure enables users to export data to a spreadsheet.
      • The Alternative to Control-J demo presented at the last UG meeting enables users to determine which tables they need to include in their queries.
    • The CAPPS Maintenance team is working on hints/tips for writing queries and hopes to provide this at the next User Group meeting.
    • The CAPPS Maintenance team requested agency volunteers to help validate these tips and provide feedback.
      • CPA (Internal) volunteered
      • TDI volunteered
      • TxDOT volunteered
  7. Action Items
    • Create a package to provide to CAPPS users with information on using PeopleSoft Queries (Becca)
  8. Next FIN User Group Meeting
    • The next meeting is scheduled to occur on Thursday, May 30, 2013.
Glenn Hegar
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Questions? Contact statewide.accounting@cpa.texas.gov
Comptroller.Texas.Gov | FMX
FMX Sitemap | Contact FM
Accessibility Policy | Privacy and Security Policy