FMX Home
Glenn Hegar  ·  Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts

CAPPS Financials User Group Meeting Notes
March 28, 2013

9 a.m. to 11 a.m.
Travis Building, Room 1-100

Agenda

  1. Open Meeting
  2. Action Items from Previous Meetings
  3. Approval of Meeting Minutes from 2/28/13
  4. Update on CAPPS Financials Project Initiatives
  5. Update on CAPPS Financials Governance Approved SRs
  6. Update on Financials Baseline Efforts
  7. Update on HUB Governance Development
  8. CAPPS Roadmap
  9. Alternative to Control J Demo
  10. Closing Items

Participants

First & Last Name Email Role/Position Attending?
Alison Meier alison.meier@cpa.texas.gov Comptroller of Public Accounts (CPA) – Change Management & Communications Yes
April Shapley april.shapley@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Governance Coordinator Yes
Becca Murdock rebecca.murdock@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Financials Lead Yes
Cecilie Engle cecilie.engle@hhsc.state.tx.us Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) Yes
Colette Bunch colette.bunch@hhsc.state.tx.us Texas Department of Insurance (TDI) Yes
Dave Launey david.launey@cpa.texas.gov Xerox Yes
Don Land don.land@cpa.texas.gov CPA Yes
Ginger Salone ginger.salone@cpa.texas.gov Xerox – Project Manager Yes
Joe Meyer joe.meyer@tdi.texas.gov TDI – Project Manager; Financials User Group (FIN UG) Voting Member Yes
Kellie Turner kellie.turner@txdot.gov Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) – Project Manager; FIN UG Voting Member Yes
Leonard Higgins leonard.higgins@cpa.texas.gov CPA – FIN UG Voting Member Yes
Marissa Duron marissa.duron@tdi.texas.gov TDI Yes
Oscar Robles oscar.robles@txdot.gov TxDOT – UAT Coordinator Yes
Reggie Pegues reginold.pegues@dir.texas.gov Department of Information Resources (DIR) – Director of Accounting; FIN UG Voting Member Yes
Rusty Charlton russell.Charlton@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Centralized Accounting and Payroll/Personnel System (CAPPS) Project Manager Yes
Sandra Woodruff sandra.woodruff@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Manager, Statewide Fiscal Systems Yes
Stephanie Moll stephanie.moll@cpa.texas.gov CPA – CAPPS Contractor Yes
Stephen McDonald stephen.mcdonald@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Director of Purchasing Yes
Thomas Hollingsworth thomas.hollingsworth@cpa.texas.gov CPA – FIN UG Voting Member; Asst. Area Manager, CAPPS/Portal/Fleet Yes

Note: Becca Murdock is sitting in as Proxy for Steve Schiurring (CPA – FM Oversight member).

Meeting Minutes

  1. Previous Action Items
    • Provide Level 1 Contact Lists to Xerox and the agencies.
      • In progress
    • Make any necessary updates to the Level 1 Contact List.
      • In progress (dependent on previous action item)
    • Research the missing tree for TDI and provide update.
      • Complete – CPA responded to TDI with information on Tree Maintenance and TDI has reviewed that information.
  2. Meeting Minutes Approval – Feb. 28, 2013
    • DECISION: The minutes from the previous meeting, held Feb. 28, 2013, are approved.
  3. Update on CAPPS Financials Project Initiatives and Governance Approved SRs
    • The full summary of Service Request (SR) updates has been provided and April will send the soft copy to the group.
    • Not every SR was discussed in detail but an update can be found on the summary documentation.
    • SR 1242 – CPA Reports Do Not Have CAPPS Logo
      • Currently in work and no longer unassigned.
    • SR 1243 – Alternative to ApDesigner Access for Query Support
      • Status: in system test.
      • Expected to be in production in approximately two weeks.
      • Demo to be held later in this meeting.
    • SR 1723 – AR Payment Analysis Report Development
      • SR has been assigned.
    • SR 1807 – Convert TINS ‘2’ Vendor Numbers to ‘7’ Numbers
      • On target to be in production before the June upgrade.
    • SR 1813 – Redesign Financials Recon (HS Recycle/IN Browser)
      • This project has three components to it.
      • Mass delete functionality is the top priority to be completed before the June upgrade.
      • The other two components will be delayed until after the upgrade is complete.
    • SR 1827 – Asset Management Capitalization Functionality
      • On target to be in production before the June upgrade.
  4. Update on Financials Baseline Efforts
    • On track to be completed by the end of April.
    • We are currently in the testing phase with approximately four weeks left until completion.
    • We are working to redact any customer sensitive information so it will not be included for future CAPPS agencies.
    • Agencies were reminded that customer sensitive information should be in the private notes section of an SR ticket.
    • The Level 1 Help Desk Guide has a list of Personally Identifiable Information (PII) criteria to use as a reference and can be found on the left hand side of ASP under “General Information.”
  5. Hub Governance
    • CPA provided a brief update on the CAPPS Hub Governance development efforts.
    • CPA is currently interviewing TxDOT and HHSC to gather input to be included in the updated Governance document that reflects Hub agencies.
    • CPA has also interviewed other states. Unfortunately, their help has not been as useful as we were hoping due to the fact that they are in the infancy stages of Hub Governance and do not have best practices to share.
  6. CAPPS Roadmap
    • The CAPPS Roadmap outlines the projects CPA is working on or intends to work on through fiscal 2015.
    • These dates are not set in stone and are subject to change, as this is a planning document only.
    • The Texas Leg row is not date-specific.
    • The Disaster Recovery (DR) testing scheduled for August is for the second phase of DR Testing.
    • Any changes deemed necessary per the Legislative session will be made as needed or in August.
    • The TJJD prototyping timeline was created with the assumption that a funding decision would be made by the end of session.
    • If a current CAPPS agency wanted to expand beyond the modules they have already implemented they would need to work through CPA/Xerox to obtain a cost estimate and then CPA would determine the priority and work it into the roadmap.
  7. Alternative to Control J Demo
    • Xerox provided a demo of the alternative to control J functionality.
    • Control J is a PeopleSoft function/macro that provides basic information about the application similar to a Help menu.
    • The Control J function, as delivered from PeopleSoft, is not currently in production because CPA Information Security Office (ISO) determined it contained confidential information that should be protected. The confidential information was removed and then the functionality was modified to meet other uses.
    • The modified Control J (or Alternative to Control J) on any page will now provide the component/menu page information and will help Security to identify roles. It will also be helpful to power users and report writers in determining which CAPPS tables contain the data they require.
    • It is expected to migrate to production within a few weeks and will be available to all CAPPS users.
    • The handout for the Alternative to Control J Demo will be provided to the CAPPS Financials User Group distribution list.
  8. Action Items
    • Distribute the following documents to the CAPPS Financials User Group distribution list (April):
      • CAPPS Financials Major Initiatives
      • Governance Approved Service Requests Summary
      • Alternative to Control J handout
  9. Next FIN User Group Meeting
    • The next meeting is scheduled to occur on Thursday, April 25, 2013.
Glenn Hegar
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Questions? Contact statewide.accounting@cpa.texas.gov
Comptroller.Texas.Gov | FMX
FMX Sitemap | Contact FM
Accessibility Policy | Privacy and Security Policy