FMX Home
Glenn Hegar  ·  Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts

CAPPS HR/Payroll User Group Meeting Notes
March 26, 2013

9 a.m. to 11 a.m.
Travis Building, Room 1-100

Agenda

  1. Open Meeting
  2. Approval of Meeting Minutes from 2/26/13
  3. Update on the HR Baseline Efforts
  4. Update on HUB Governance Development
  5. CAPPS Roadmap
  6. Vote on the “CAPPS HR/Payroll Service Request Workflow and Governance Process Document”
  7. Closing Items

Participants

First & Last Name Email Role/Position Attending?
Alison Meier alison.meier@cpa.texas.gov Comptroller of Public Accounts (CPA) – Change Management & Communications Yes
April Shapley april.shapley@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Governance Coordinator Yes
Bruce Myers bruce.myers@cpa.texas.gov Xerox Yes
Charlotte Wallace charlotte.wallace@hhsc.state.tx.us Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) – Project Manager Yes
Dave Hobson david.hobson@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC – Project Manager Yes
Dena Riede dena.riede@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC – Human Capital Management (HCM) Voting Member Yes
Donna Clay donna.clay@cpa.texas.gov Xerox Yes
Jefre Schmitz jefre.schmitz@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC Yes
Kelley Martin kelley.martin@cpa.texas.gov Xerox Yes
Kellie Turner kellie.turner@txdot.gov Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) – Project Manager; FIN UG Voting Member Yes
Kennan Zishka kennan.zishka@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC – HCM Voting Member; Human Resources Yes
Kevin Smith kevin.smith@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC Yes
Michelle Lampkin michelle.lampkin@dir.texas.gov Department of Information Resources (DIR) – HCM Voting Member Yes
Mickey Gregory mickey.gregory@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC – HCM Voting Member Yes
Mike Markl mike.markl@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC Yes
Morris Arnold morris.arnold@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC Yes
Nikki Zito nicole.zito@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC Yes
Randa Maldonado randa.maldonado@dir.texas.gov DIR – HCM Voting Member Yes
Sandra Woodruff sandra.woodruff@cpa.texas.gov CPA – Manager, Statewide Fiscal Systems Yes
Stacey Hassin stacey.hassin@cpa.texas.gov CPA – HCM Voting Member; HCM Team Lead Yes
Theresa Pratt theresa.pratt@hhsc.state.tx.us HHSC Yes

Meeting Minutes

  1. Review Action Items From Previous Meeting
    • Action Item #1: Determine if there are any additional fields (current or need to be developed) that can be used to prioritize Service Requests (SRs).
      • Status: in progress
    • Action Item #2: Review submitted enhancements and ensure the SRs reflect accurate and up-to-date information.
      • Status: in progress
      • April will send a reminder to the CAPPS HCM Level 1 email list.
    • Action Item #3: Once “date requested by” field is in production, send an email to the User Group.
      • Status: email draft is ready to be sent
    • Action Item #4: Update the Level 1 User Guide to reflect “date requested by” functionality.
      • Status: in progress
    • Action Item #5: Review “medium” category SRs and change, if needed.
      • Status: in progress
    • Action Item #6: Update CAPPS HR/Payroll Service Request Workflow and Governance Process Document and send to the User Group.
      • Status: complete
    • Action Item #7: Review CAPPS HR/Payroll User Group Minutes from 2/5/13 and send approval to April.
      • Status: complete
  2. CAPPS HCM User Group Meeting Minutes Approval – 2/26/13
    • The minutes were distributed to the User Group on 3/22/13. DECISION: The minutes from the previous meeting held Jan. 31, 2013, are approved.
  3. Update on the HR/Payroll Baseline Effort
    • The HCM Team is currently working to create a starter kit that will be provided to TxDOT (Phase 1 of the baseline effort).
    • Any CAPPS data that is specific to HHS (including configurations) will be removed from HCM and eLM.
    • Links to Vurv and Authoria will also be removed as they are items that were added specifically for HHS and will not be a part of the statewide product.
    • Testing will begin on April 1 and is expected to last through the end of April.
    • The CPA HCM Team is reviewing the deferred requirements and will provide recommendations to Xerox as they begin to implement those requirements.
      • This effort will last through the end of May.
    • At the end of May, Xerox will deliver to CPA a detailed analysis of several statewide requirements and their impact on the next phase of a CAPPS HR baseline. CPA will then review these documents and determine the scope of the next CAPPS HR baseline deliverable.
    • The CAPPS Maintenance team applied production fixes to the starter kit up to the beginning of system testing. Since that point, only selected emergency fixes have been applied.
    • Once the starter kit is delivered to TxDOT, the CAPPS Maintenance team will not be delivering any further fixes.
    • CPA is currently analyzing the impact of HHS using consolidated timesheets (CTS) assuming that other agencies would be using PeopleSoft vanilla.
  4. Hub Governance Document
    • CPA is currently interviewing TxDOT and HHSC to gather input to be included in the updated Governance document that reflects Hub agencies.
    • CPA has also interviewed other states. Unfortunately, their help has not been as useful as we were hoping due to the fact that they are in the infancy stages of Hub Governance and do not have best practices to share.
  5. CAPPS Roadmap
    • The CAPPS Roadmap outlines the list of tasks and activities that each agency is working on or intends to work on through FY15.
    • These dates are not set in stone and are subject to change.
    • Any changes deemed necessary per the Legislative session will be made as needed or in August.
    • The Texas Leg row is not date-specific.
    • The Disaster Recovery (DR) testing scheduled for August is the second phase of DR Testing.
    • This document will be sent to anyone on the conference call after the conclusion of the meeting.
    • IT will elaborate on the future hardware strategy at a future User Group meeting when a plan has been created.
    • CPA noted that extending the HR/Payroll system stabilization period one more month will not have an impact on the baseline project.
      • There are currently 158 outstanding SRs.
      • More SRs have been closed in the last two weeks than have come in, which is good progress.
      • There are 31 outstanding SRs in HR and 23 outstanding SRs in Time & Labor (several of which are currently in work).
    • Xerox will be performing analysis soon to review the impact of the Texas Identification Number System (TINS) number change.
    • HHS stated that they need visibility to the TINS number in order to claim travel vouchers.
      • HHS had an internal meeting to discuss this and will submit an SR to include a summary of their findings.
    • DECISION: HR/Payroll system stabilization will be pushed out through the end of April on the roadmap.
  6. CAPPS HR/Payroll Service Request Workflow and Governance Process Document
    • The document being discussed today is version 6 and the goal is to finalize it with the understanding that it can always be updated as needed in the future.
    • The one change in the newest version is that the characteristics of a high priority have been updated to include:
      • Issue impacts a large number of users and no workaround is available.
      • Issue is frequently occurring.
      • Issue impacts agency compliance with federal or state code.
    • DECISION: User Group approves the CAPPS HR/Payroll Service Request Workflow and Governance Process Document. The final version will be referred to as version 1.0.
    • The approved document will be posted in the General Information section of Application Service Provider (ASP).
  7. Action Items
    • Send a reminder to the CAPPS HCM Level 1 email list to review submitted enhancements and ensure the SRs reflect accurate and up-to-date information (April)
    • Email the CAPPS Roadmap document to User Group conference call attendees (April)
    • HHS will submit an SR to include a summary of their findings regarding their need to view TINS numbers to claim travel refunds (Keith Smith)
    • Post the approved CAPPS HR/Payroll Service Request Workflow and Governance Process Document in the General Information section of ASP (April)
  8. Next HCM User Group Meeting
    • The next meeting is scheduled to occur on April 30, 2013.
Glenn Hegar
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Questions? Contact statewide.accounting@cpa.texas.gov
Comptroller.Texas.Gov | FMX
FMX Sitemap | Contact FM
Accessibility Policy | Privacy and Security Policy