FMX Home
Glenn Hegar  ·  Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Tips for Finding Information

  • Search for any term in the box on the right at the top of every page.
  • Browse the headings under the tab on the subject of your question.
  • Use the Table of Contents site map.

Still can’t find an answer? Contact Payment Services.

Open All,  Close All  or click on the headings below to open a topic individually.

Why is a Social Security number required when setting up an individual as a payee or a state debtor in TINS? [+]

The Comptroller’s office requires an individual’s Social Security number to

  • Administer state tax laws
  • Comply with the warrant hold statutes
  • Report payments to the Internal Revenue Service

See Texas Identification Number (TIN) for the legal cites on this requirement.

Who is responsible for obtaining the TIN from individuals and businesses? [+]

State agencies and institutions of higher education are required to obtain TINs from their payees. See Security Recommendations for recommended payee number documentation.

If I need to change a mail code that another agency is paying, how do I know who to call at that agency? [+]

Please see the Paying Agency Contact List. Press Control F to search for the agency name or number.

How can I correct a data entry error when a new vendor was set up with the wrong TIN? [+]

Do not set up the correct number. Complete and submit a Payee Change Request form (74-157) (login required) PDF to request a:

  • Number change if the correct number has not been set up yet in TINS. Payment Services will change the incorrect number to the correct number.
  • Number merge if the correct number is already set up in TINS. Payment Services will merge the incorrect number with the correct number.

How long does it take for a direct deposit payment to be available in a payee’s account? [+]

For vendor payments and supplemental payroll payments, the date of issue is shown on the Payee Payment Information (PYWRNT) screen.

  • It takes two business days from that date for the payment to be available in the payee’s account.
  • For bimonthly and monthly payroll payments, the date on PYWRNT is the date the payroll will be available.

Can I use TINS Online for payroll setups and employee direct deposit setups? [+]

No. See Introduction to Direct Deposit for links to the payroll system instructions.

Does a payee have to have a mail code in order to be placed on hold? [+]

No, a payee does not need to have a mail code or a master record in TINS in order to be set up on hold. See Payee Hold Setup (PHDSUP).

What is the threshold for checking a payee’s warrant hold status before using a payment card? [+]

The threshold is $500. For payments over $500, you must use TINS to verify that the payee is not on warrant hold before making the purchase. See Payment Card Purchases.

How can I determine which state agency has placed our payee on hold? [+]

If you have access, use the Payee Hold Information (PYHOLD) screen to identify the type of hold and the Hold Source Agency. Use the Agency Hold Reason Inquiry (RSNINQ) screen for the Hold Source Agency’s contact information.

When a payment on hold gets released, will it go by direct deposit? [+]

No. Because of the hold, the payment was issued as a warrant and cannot be converted to a direct deposit. Once the hold on the payee is released, future payments may resume by direct deposit. See Direct Deposit Suspended.

How can I tell if a payment was processed as a direct deposit or if it was held? [+]

Four values in the Payment Distribution (PMNT DIST) column on the Payee Payment Information (PYWRNT) screen tell you how a payment was processed:

  • RA means the payment was processed as a warrant and released to the paying agency for distribution to its payee
  • RH means the payment was processed as a warrant and is on warrant hold
  • DD means the payee is set up for direct deposit and the payment was processed as direct deposit
  • DH means the payee is set up for direct deposit and the payment was processed as a warrant and held

The payment number also tells if the payment was issued as direct deposit or a warrant:

  • Seven digits indicate a direct deposit payment
  • Nine digits indicate a warrant
Glenn Hegar
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Questions? Contact statewide.accounting@cpa.texas.gov
Comptroller.Texas.Gov | FMX
FMX Sitemap | Contact FM
Accessibility Policy | Privacy and Security Policy